Follow on Bloglovin

Monday, March 18, 2013

Newbery Award Winners

When choosing books for my classroom, the first place I look is the list of Newbery Award Winners and Honor Books. These are the creme de la creme in children's literature.

The first Newbery Medal was awarded to The Story of Mankind in 1922. Since then dozens of fabulous children's books have received this award from the American Library Association. The ALA website lists Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1922-2012. In my opinion, this list is a goldmine of middle grade reading material!

Many of the books I use or have used in my fourth grade classroom are Newbery winners:

  • Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo (2001 Honor Book)
  • Holes by Louis Sachar (1999 Medal Winner)*
  • A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck (1999 Honor Book)*
  • Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (1998 Honor Book)*
  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry (1990 Medal Winner)
  • Hatchet by Gary Paulsen (1988 Honor Book)*
  • The Whipping Boy by Sid Fleischman (1987 Medal Winner)
  • The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin (1979 Medal Winner)*
  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle (1963 Medal Winner)
  • The Hundred Dresses by Eleanor Estes (1945 Honor Book)
  • Call It Courage by Armstrong Sperry (1941 Medal Winner)
  • The Cat Who Went to Heaven by Elizabeth Coatsworth (1931 Medal Winner)*
These books are spectacular for middle grade readers! They are motivational, well written, and teachable.

Next on my list of things to do? Read the 2013 Newbery winners!

*Books I currently use with my high ability fourth grade readers.

No comments:

Post a Comment